2006 IMD MBA Admissions Chat with Janet Shaner

2006 IMD MBA Admissions Chat with Janet Shaner

Please feel free to let us know if you would like to be informed of future chats by sending e-mail to chat@accepted.com. We would also be interested in knowing if you would prefer a different format or different topics.

Linda Abraham (Jan 18, 2006 9:55:46 AM)
First I want to welcome you all to Accepted.com's International MBA Admissions Chat and the IMD room.

Linda Abraham (Jan 18, 2006 9:56:07 AM)
I also want to extend a special welcome to Janet Shaner, Director of MBA Marketing, and Helga Vanthournout, member of the IMD class of 2005.

Linda Abraham (Jan 18, 2006 9:56:14 AM)
Where is Helga's bio: I was born in Belgium and lived there until after got my first degree (Master in Environmental Engineering). I then went on to study in Sweden, where I met my American husband. Together, we lived in Germany, Canada, and Italy. I worked in Customer Service and Product Management for a company that designs and markets enterprise software and later in high-tech manufacturing. With five years of work experience I successfully applied to IMD's fulltime MBA program. This brought us to Switzerland and this time we're staying: in February I will join McKinsey and Company in its Geneva office.

Linda Abraham (Jan 18, 2006 9:56:32 AM)
Thanks to everyone for joining.

amitabhcoomar (Jan 18, 2006 9:57:56 AM)
Janet, I am an Indian army officer. I want to know the significance of the input of financing the course asked for in the application. If I bank heavily on the loan through IMD would that reduce my chances of success?

JanetShanerIMD (Jan 18, 2006 9:58:14 AM)
Hi Amit, your financial need has no influence on your acceptance decision.

Linda Abraham (Jan 18, 2006 9:58:26 AM)
Helga, what do you view as IMD's strengths?

bme (Jan 18, 2006 9:58:40 AM)
Second MBA: I already have an MBA degree. Does it disqualify me from the applying to the program?