Michigan Ross MBA Admissions Chat with Soojin Kwon Koh

Michigan Ross MBA Admissions Chat with Soojin Kwon Koh

Please feel free to let us know if you would like to be informed of future chats by sending e-mail to chat@accepted.com. We would also be interested in knowing if you would prefer a different format or different topics.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:47:11 AM)
First I want to welcome you all to Accepted.com’s Michigan Ross Admissions Chat.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:47:26 AM)
I also want to welcome Soojin Kwon Koh, Michigan's new Director of Admissions; Becky Shark, Associate Director of Admissions; and Mike McGoohan, Ross student.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:47:46 AM)
Thanks to everyone for joining.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:48:16 AM)
Mike, could you tell us a little about yourself? What were you doing before b-school? What do you want to do after b-school?

MikeMcGoohanRoss (Sep 6, 2006 9:49:52 AM)
I am a second year MBA student from Milwaukee, WI. Before Ross, I worked for Deloitte Consulting in Boston in their Strategy & Operations practice for 3 1/2 years. I came to Ross looking to switch careers into Sports Management or Real Estate.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:50:00 AM)
Soojin and Becky, if you are looking at an application and the numbers and basic profile is in the ballpark for a Ross student, what distinguishes an application that is accepted from one that is rejected?

raj (Sep 6, 2006 9:50:05 AM)
Mike, please tell us the specifics of what you do in MAP? If you can give an example that would be great.

BeckySharkRoss (Sep 6, 2006 9:51:32 AM)
What distinguishes a candidate is his/her ability to articulate goals, why an MBA will help and why he/she wants to attend our program.

SoojinKohRoss (Sep 6, 2006 9:51:41 AM)
The content of the essays truly can differentiate applicants.

Linda Abraham (Sep 6, 2006 9:52:18 AM)
Soojin, what about that content? Is it presentation, articulation, the specifics?

JSS (Sep 6, 2006 9:52:35 AM)