2004 MIT/Sloan MBA Admissions Chat with Rod Garcia

2004 MIT/Sloan MBA Admissions Chat with Rod Garcia

Please feel free to let us know if you would like to be informed of future chats by sending e-mail to chat@accepted.com. We would also be interested in knowing if you would prefer a different format or different topics.

Chat Transcript:

Linda Abraham (Jan 8, 2004 12:57:41 PM)
First I want to welcome you all to Accepted.com's MIT admissions chat.

Linda Abraham (Jan 8, 2004 12:58:12 PM)
I also want to welcome Rod Garcia, Director of MBA Admissions; Jon McLaughlin, Assistant Director of MBA Admissions; Sergio Gongora, a second-year student from Spain; and Frederic Zussa, a student from France, and Niraj Parekh, from India.

Linda Abraham (Jan 8, 2004 12:58:24 PM)
Thanks to everyone for joining.

JonMcLaughlinMIT (Jan 8, 2004 12:58:38 PM)
Our pleasure.

FredericZussaMIT (Jan 8, 2004 12:59:18 PM)
Hi everyone! My name is Frederic. I am from France. I am a first year student here at MIT Sloan and prior to starting the MBA program, I worked for 7 years, first as a technology consultant for a large consulting firm in the Silicon Valley and in Europe. I then helped former colleagues start a new High Tech venture from the ground up.

SergioGongoraMIT (Jan 8, 2004 12:59:46 PM)
I am a first year student. I worked for Deloitte (2 years) and Telefonica (3 years) in Spain, Argentina and US.  My main areas of knowledge are financial sector and Telecom (mainly eBusiness).

NirajParekhMIT (Jan 8, 2004 1:00:10 PM)
I'm Niraj Parekh - a second year at Sloan.  Prior to Sloan I did business development for Citigroup's global consumer bank. After Sloan, I am considering an assignment with McKinsey's BTO in NYC. In my second year, I was a TA for the first year Microeconomics course.

Linda Abraham (Jan 8, 2004 1:00:16 PM)
What do you want to do after you graduate?

Kodak_mile (Jan 8, 2004 1:00:30 PM)
When will the R1 decisions be posted (I know the official date is Jan. 12th)?