2005 Johns Hopkins Med School Admissions Chat with Paul White

2005 Johns Hopkins Med School Admissions Chat with Paul White

Linda Abraham (May 25, 2005 5:09:39 PM)
First I want to welcome you all to Accepted.com's Johns Hopkins Medical School Admissions Chat.

Linda Abraham (May 25, 2005 5:09:46 PM)
I also want to welcome Paul White, Director of Admissions; Kimi Kobayashi, Hopkins student; Sangini Shah, Hopkins student; and Roberto Villegas, Hopkins medical student.

Linda Abraham (May 25, 2005 5:10:03 PM)
As I continue my little intro, could each of the Hopkins students tell us a little about yourself: What year of medical school are you in? Where are you from? What is your particular focus/goal in medical school?

robertovillegasHOPKINS (May 25, 2005 5:11:11 PM)
I am a first year medical student. I grew up in LA, went to school in SF, came back to LA for five years, and am now in Baltimore.

SanginiShahHOPKINS (May 25, 2005 5:11:49 PM)
I'm also a first year and I grew up in North Stonington, CT. I went to college in CT and was in NYC last year doing a public affairs fellowship.

cbare (May 25, 2005 5:12:25 PM)
What qualifies as "disadvantaged?" My family got food stamps after my parents were divorced. I worked from age 16 with some of the money going to college costs. I got Stafford loans and Pell Grants for college. Should I designate myself as "disadvantaged" on AMCAS?

jonsir (May 25, 2005 5:13:18 PM)
What do you think is the main thing(s) that got you into JH med school?

Linda Abraham (May 25, 2005 5:13:34 PM)
For the students: Why did you choose Hopkins? Is it meeting your expectations?

PaulWhiteHOPKINS (May 25, 2005 5:13:36 PM)
AMCAS leave it up to the individual as to whether he/she is disadvantaged. If you check yes, you then have the opportunity to explain how you see yourself as disadvantaged.

venus (May 25, 2005 5:14:03 PM)
How do you view reapplicants? Do you keep the past applications and compare how they have changed?